June Q. Moore Member Award

Established in 1993-94 to honor outstanding university and employer co-op practitioners of the Tennessee Cooperative Education Association (TCEA), the award now honors one for outstanding leadership and service to the profession and to TACE. Nominees should have shown dedication to all areas of Cooperative Education and is a credit to self, the college or business, the community, and the state.

The award is named for June Q. Moore, Assistant Dean and Director of Co-op for the University of Tennessee’s College of Engineering for many years. She was active in many professional organizations and served TCEA as President, Vice President, Secretary, and Board member. The June Q. Moore Award honors her dedication and commitment to the co-op world.

Lumsden-Sellers Outstanding Member Award

Established in 1990 to honor outstanding members of the Tennessee College Placement Association (TCPA) for exceptional service, this award is now made to honor one for outstanding leadership, loyalty, and dedication to their profession and to TACE.

The award is named for two dedicated members of the profession. Ava Sellers was the Placement Director of Vanderbilt University for fifty years and was active in many professional organizations including the Tennessee College Placement Association (TCPA) where she served as President. Throughout her lengthy career, she demonstrated her dedication to students and their careers while making numerous contributions to her profession.

Howard Lumsden was the Director of Career Planning and Placement at the University of Tennessee for 31 years. Noted as one of the few nationally recognized leaders in the field of Career Services, he was active in professional organizations serving as officer to many. Twenty years after his retirement and ten years after his death, one still hears UT alumni and old-time recruiters who remember his helpful nature and delightful personality.

Annie Gray Harris Sasser New Member Award

Established in 2006 to recognize new members to TACE. Recipients of this award have been a member of TACE for less than five (5) years and have demonstrated a significant contribution to career planning, recruiting, and/or TACE. Contributions must show innovation, reflect foresight, and display leadership qualities.

This award is named for Annie Gray Harris Sasser, a founding member of the Tennessee College Placement Association (TCPA) now a part of TACE. Ms. Sasser taught mathematics at Tennessee State University until she became the first Director of the TSU Career Center. She remained at TSU over 40 years until her retirement. During her time as Director, she left a legacy on which the TSU Career Center has continued to build. Ms. Sasser hosted the first TSU Career Fair and developed the Cluster Program which continues to thrive and bring industry leaders, faculty, and staff together to address curriculum gaps and develop internship opportunities for students. While Ms. Sasser was a leader within TSU, she also remained active in her profession and civic organizations. The Annie Gray Harris Sasser Award honors her innovative spirit, inspirational leadership, and contributions to both her profession and community.

Honorary Lifetime Membership

This award may be presented to individuals no longer eligible for active membership due to retirement, resignation, or change of assignment. To be considered for this award one should have been a charter member or a member for the previous five years. Approval for the award is made by the Board of Directors.